8 things noted from an out-of-sorts week

 

It has been a bit of a loner slow week, where tea and soup have been my best couch buddies. Kleenex by my side, cough drops in my pocket, and drugs scattered on the kitchen counter, I’ve let the house work go a little. I did manage to fold some laundry in a two day span. Books sit staring at me enticing me to read them, but my brain is clouded and will not focus enough to retain but a sentence.
I’ve taken the one-two-punch and I’m down for the count. Life, you will have to leave a voicemail because I’ll be out of the office for a while. I’ve been wrestling with a nasty respiratory infection this week. Though it is not the flu nor a crazy disease, its still put me out and on my butt. I’m hoping the worst is behind me even though I’m still giving my lungs the occasionally violent work out and I know what time I need to take more miracle meds.
I wanted to share a few things (8 to be exact) I’ve been gleaning out of this nasty little experience.

1. Water…water…must find water.
Mom was not joking when she told me as a kid to drink up.  I’ve drank more water the past week than I normally do in two weeks.
I could learn from this and make water the first thing I reach for on a normal morning basis. The coffee can wait. My brain and body needs water to wake up and do its thing (like get rid of all this yucky stuff in my chest).

2. The active concern from others is a sweet blessing to my heart.
When you do not make your own hours nor have sick days at your job, guess what…you still have to go to work. So I took the meds and put a handful of coffee drops in my pocket.
In my industry, Im not going to announce I feel like shit to my customers. But a favorite fun loving boisterous regular of ours stopped in and noticed my voice sounded funny. A few minutes later she came back in the store with some essential oils for me. I thought oh she’s just going to hand it to me. Oh no! Being the mom to all God’s children she is… she called me over and lathered me up with this stuff, on my heart, on my neck, on my face. My district manager looked on with bewilderment. I smelt like a hippie for the next few hours.  But it blessed me. I giggled, “I’m anointed”.

3. It read, “Don’t let unexpected situations ‘throw’ you”.
Yep, that was the fortune cookie I got a couple weeks ago and hung on to. And the last two weeks there have been several unexpecteds…mostly what I would not say are favorable. Holy Spirit can use fortune cookies right? I mean He is God afterall. image

I’ve been reminded that circumstances do not have to dictate my attitude. I kept saying yea I am good, I’m just not feeling well and neither is my car (car was out of commission this week too).
I’m reminded of a quote from the book Into the Silent Land by Martin Laird :

A mountain does not determine what sort of weather is happening but witnesses all the weather that comes and goes…

My core, where I am united and hidden in Christ is stronger.  These things (sickness, etc.) are just the storms around.

4. Mom!!!!
Need I say more? Even though she is most likely the one I got this plague from, shes still the one I call with drug questions. Its times like these I am thankful that I live back in the same city as my family. Because after all when you do not feel well the main person you want is your momma.
Also there must be something innately wired in mom’s that when their kids aren’t feeling well their text game is amped up 😉

5. I love to sing, but do not know how to sing when on mute.
Music is a big part of my week. Id say more than half the showers I take are accompanied with some kind of music. Not to mentioned I’ve gotten into the habit of going to a service mid week where worship through singing is main part of the meeting time.
I’ve been challenged this week when Ive wanted to sing or pray out loud. (I can do these things freely and as loud as I want because I live in the middle of nowhere.) How do you sing when you have no voice? I’m still not sure.  imageOne evening I sat on the dock with a cup of tea, closed my eyes and let my soul dance to music with the one my heart loves.
I’m thankful for a voice and a song. But even when I do not feel I have either, its good to be reminded that my soul is in an eternal dance.  In that place I can rest.

6. You are what you eat.
Let me tell you how many times I googled how to get better faster…actually I lost count. Here’s what has helped me the most when it comes to what I put in my body:
– Soup…progresso will be super successful this month (chicken brooth is good for you)
-Fresh Juices (New discovery: Carrot, tumeric, banana, ginger, coconut water)
-Tea (Bergamot in Earl Grey tea is supposedly good for you)
-Honey (my favorite any way)
-Cinnamon (it has inflammatory properties)

7. Crankiness is not just found in babes, its in me too.
Found myself way irritable one day. I had to pause for a minute and evaluate why I was getting angry. Realized it was because I had no control over the fact that I was sick. And because I was sick my performance at work and life just was not happening. Hmmm….a good dose of grace goes a long way. Do I have any other high-performing recovering perfectionists out there that can relate??

8. When discouragement comes a creepin’, powerful words push back.
You’ve probably seen my posts about the book I am reading.  What an awesome privilege I had to help spread the word post-launch. The Power of the Other by Dr. Henry Cloud is an absolute gem.
With the “unexpecteds” of my week the power of the other has been well…powerful. A friend to hash out the deep things. A random text from someone telling me how special I am. Finding out that someone had been praying for me all weekend. Someone I respect looking me in the eyes and telling me to feel better, and knowing she is declaring it over my life not just saying well wishes.  A willing brother to go for all in by praying for healing over me.
Dude…we need each other. Unless you prefer staying in the pits, but my guess is sooner or later you’ll want out. I’m thankful for, and craving for more corner 4 connections in my life. #poweroftheother
May your week be filled with encouragement rather than the lies of defeat. And for those feeling under the weather may you be renewed and refreshed, healed and strenghtened.

Leave a Reply

